Board of Public Safety

The Board of Public Safety is comprised of five members appointed by the mayor. Their responsibilities are to oversee the hiring, discipline and general operations of the police, fire, and communications center. The Board ratifies the Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) contract, the International Association of Firefighters (IAFF) contract, and the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) contract for the City of Elkhart.

Regular meetings are held at 9:00 A.M. in the Council Chambers on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of the month.

Board of Public Safety Members

Anthoney Coleman, Member

2131 Frances Ave

Elkhart 46516

Kevin Segner, Member
1900 E. Jackson Blvd.
Elkhart, IN 46516


Dr. Robert Woods, Chairman

2720 California Rd

Elkhart 46514

262-5530 (w)

Email Board Member



Rev. Jean Mayes, Vice-Chairman

1920 Grant St.
Elkhart, IN 46514
Email Board Member  

Contact Us

Nancy Wilson,
Administrative Assistant

229 S 2nd St
Elkhart, IN 46516
Get Directions
  • Phone:  (574) 294-5471 x 1055
  • Fax:  (574) 522-6794
  • Staff Directory
  • Hours: 8:00am - 5:00pm M-F

Board of Public Safety

Department HomeDepartment Home

More Information

Stay up-to-date with an RSS feed of all documents and services added to this page.

What Is This?